Terms

1. Applicability

1.1
These Standard Business Terms apply to all translation, proofreading and ghost-writing assignments and analogously to all other services, unless otherwise expressly agreed or statutorily required.

1.2
The client’s standard business terms are only binding on me if I have explicitly recognised and signed them.

2. My services

2.1
Translation and ghost-writing are done according to generally accepted professional practice. The texts produced are, in respect of grammar, spelling and idiomatic use, rendered in accordance with the generally accepted rules of educated Standard English as used in the British Isles by university educated native speakers of that origin. Should the client require another national or style variant of English or specific terminology diverging from generally recognised rules then he must inform me so and provide corresponding guidance (sample texts, glossaries, etc.). The use of specific client terminology must be expressly agreed when the order is placed.

3. Client’s obligation to cooperate

3.1
Source texts must be clearly legible and written in accordance with the accepted rules of the source language and unambiguously intelligible. I do not provide any warranty for texts that are redacted (for whatever reason). In such cases, I instead recommend the insertion of fictitious but realistic phrases, proper nouns or numbers.

3.2
The client must assume liability for rights to the original and ensure that a translation or adaptation may be produced. He must hold me harmless against any corresponding third-party claims.

3.3
Required context information including texts that are quoted or assumed to be known must be provided. The intended use of the target text as well as a sufficiently detailed description of the intended target audience, including details of its educational level, knowledge of English and any eventual social, political and religious orientation are indispensable for producing an appropriate effect on the audience and avoiding unsuitable terminology or modes of expression.

4. Client’s rights in case of defects

4.1
I reserve the right to remedy defects. The client has initially only a claim to remedy of any potential defects in the text produced.

4.2
The client must assert his claim to remedy of any defects in writing at the latest within ten days and must indicate the precise defect.

4.3
A justified defect only obtains if the translation supplied does not constitute an adequate rendition of the factual statement intended by the source text. For example, preferred uses of synonyms or free rephrasing of the target text without consideration of the source text do not constitute any grounds for a complaint.

4.4
Defects in the translation due to poorly legible, incorrect, incomplete or garbled (redacted) originals lie outside of my liability.

5. Acceptance

5.1
A deadline of 10 calendar days applies for completion of acceptance. Should there neither be any declaration or justified rejection of acceptance within that deadline by the client the product as delivered shall be deemed to be accepted.

5.2
If the client is a merchant, in case of defects section 377 of the German Commercial Code applies in addition.

6. Liability

6.1
I am liable for gross negligence and deliberate intent. Not qualifying as gross negligence are damages caused by computer failure and email transmission malfunctions or by viruses. I take precautions against this with anti-virus software. Liability in case of minor negligence applies only to a breach of essential substantive obligations.

6.2
The client’s claim on me for compensation of any damages due to the causes listed in section 6 (1), sentence 4, shall be limited to the contractually agreed amount.

6.3
Disclaiming or limiting liability under section 6 (1) and (2) shall not apply to consumer damages due to injury to life, limb or health.

6.4
Recourse liability in case of third-party damage compensation claims is expressly barred.

6.5
The client’s claims due to defects in the translation or other text produced are, except in the case of malicious deception, time-barred in one year after acceptance.

7. Fee and payment

7.1
My invoices are due and payable without deduction within 30 days of their invoice date. Thereafter the payer is in arrears. The provisions of the Act on Acceleration of Payments Due of 30 March 2000 (German Federal Law Gazette I, page 330) apply.

7.2 All prices quoted are understood as being plus statutory VAT.

7.3
Unless otherwise agreed, the volume of a translation of continuous or running text is quantified by the number of standard lines in the target language, with a standard line consisting of 55 strokes (including empty spaces). The price is then calculated by multiplying the number of lines by the line rate. Proofreading, editing, processing of Excel and Powerpoint files as well as ghost-writing are charged on the basis of time required. Lists of standalone concepts or non-context text or text fragments are charged by special agreement.

7.4
Complicated formatting of the text cannot be guaranteed or will be charged extra.

7.5
Clients in Germany should pay by bank remittance to my business account, clients in Austria by remittance to my Austrian bank account. Clients elsewhere in the Eurozone and Switzerland must pay be SEPA bank transfer to one of these accounts. For payments effected from other currency areas all bank charges will be at the expense of the client.

7.6
The client is only entitled to set off for counterclaims which have been definitively adjudicated or are not disputed. The client is only entitled to exercise the right of retention if his counterclaim is based on the same assignment.

8. Retention of title and copyright

8.1
Up through complete payment of the invoice for the assignment, translations and other texts remain my property. Until then, the client has no right of usage.

8.2
Where a text was produced for a third party, I reserve the right to draw that third party’s attention to my outstanding receivable and to the concomitant illegality of using the translation or the text.

8.3
I retain all copyrights. Upon complete payment the client has an unlimited right of usage to the translation or other texts.

9. Confidentiality and secrecy

9.1
I obligate myself to keep all information I come into possession of in connection with translation, editing and ghost-writing assignments secret, including the very existence of the business relationship with the client. In my exercise of a liberal profession I never divulge the identity of clients as references. I only divulge the identity of my clients in my exercise of a liberal profession to authorised fiscal authorities of the Federal Republic of Germany. Nor do I provide any of my clients with access to my business records. I have not entered into any contractual agreements to provide third parties with information about my business relationships.

9.2
I do not in principle work for public authorities, including international authorities or organisations, nor for any clients in sensitive national defence or security fields. Where I perform services used in such fields I do so exclusively via commercially operating intermediaries with whom my business relationship is on a purely commercial footing. Police, prosecutors and courts are also public authorities within the meaning of this paragraph.

9.3
I employ third parties only in the production of texts in languages other than English. I impose the obligations set out in section 9 (1) on any such collaborators.

9.4
All texts and files related to my exercise of a liberal profession reside on my own server.

9.5
For electronic transmission of texts and data as well as for other communication in electronic form, I cannot completely guarantee protection of their contents since it cannot be excluded that non-authorised third parties can intercept texts and data transmitted electronically. At the request of clients, encryption procedures can be agreed.

9.6
For my professional practice I only maintain business relations for internet, IT and data processing services with firms registered in the Federal Republic of Germany. Foreign social networks and similar foreign providers are neither used for marketing nor any other business purposes. Use by way of exception of providers domiciled abroad (e.g. Skype) must be approved in advance by the client.

9.7
I only guarantee protection against inadvertent misdirection of files intended for clients if my internal security coding of file names is used.

10.  Applicable law

10.1
German law is exclusively applicable to my assignments.

10.2
Where my contractual interlocutor is a merchant or a legal entity, Munich is the venue of fulfilment and court jurisdiction.

10.3
The legal validity of these Standard Business Terms will not be impaired if specific provisions thereof are void or of no legal effect.

10.4
Amendments and supplements to these Standard Business Terms will only be valid if they have been agreed in writing. This also applies to amendment of this requirement of written form.

AGB

1. Geltungsbereich

1.1
Diese Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen gelten für alle Übersetzungs-, Lektorats- und Ghostwritingaufträge und sinngemäß auch für weitere Leistungen, soweit nicht etwas anderes ausdrücklich vereinbart oder gesetzlich vorgeschrieben ist.

1.2
Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen des Auftraggebers sind für mich nur verbindlich wenn ich diese ausdrücklich anerkannt und unterschrieben habe.

2. Meine Leistungen

2.1
Übersetzung bzw. Ghostwriting erfolgt nach den Grundsätzen ordnungsgemäßer Berufsausübung. Die erstellten Texte werden hinsichtlich Grammatik, Rechtschreibung und Sprachgebrauch gemäß den allgemeinen anerkannten Regeln des erhobenen und in den Veröffentlichungen der britischen Inseln benutzten Standard English, wie es von akademisch gebildeten Muttersprachlern dieser Provenienz gepflegt wird, ausgeführt. Wünscht der Auftraggeber eine andere nationale bzw. Stil-Variante der englischen Sprache oder eine bestimmte von den allgemein anerkannten Regeln abweichende Terminologie, so teilt er dies mit und stellt entsprechende Anleitungen (Mustertexte, Glossare, usw.) zur Verfügung. Die Verwendung einer spezifischen Terminologie des Auftraggebers ist bei Auftragserteilung ausdrücklich zu vereinbaren.

3. Mitwirkungspflichten des Auftraggebers

3.1
Ausgangstexte müssen klar lesbar und nach den anerkannten Regeln der Ausgangssprache geschrieben sein und eindeutig verständlich sein. Für Texte mit Auslassungen, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, gebe ich keine Gewährleistung. In solchen Fällen, empfehle ich stattdessen die Einfügung fingierter aber realitätsnaher Ausrücke, Eigennamen oder Ziffern.

3.2
Der Auftraggeber übernimmt die Haftung für die Rechte an einem Original und stellt sicher, dass eine Übersetzung oder Bearbeitung angefertigt werden darf. Von entsprechenden Ansprüchen Dritter stellt er mich frei.

3.3
Erforderliche Kontextinformationen einschließlich zitierter oder als bekannt vorausgesetzter Texte sind zur Verfügung zu stellen. Der Verwendungszweck des Zieltextes sowie eine ausreichend detaillierte Beschreibung des gedachten Zielpublikums mit Einzelheiten in Bezug auf dessen Bildungsniveau, Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache und allfällige soziale, politische und religiöse Orientierung sind unentbehrlich um Publikumsgerechte Wirkung zu erzielen und ungeeignete Terminologie oder Ausdrucksweise zu vermeiden.

4. Rechte des Auftraggebers bei Mängeln

4.1
Ich behalte mir das Recht auf Mängelbeseitigung vor. Der Auftraggeber hat zunächst nur Anspruch auf Beseitigung von möglichen im erstellten Text enthaltenen Mängeln.

4.2
Der Anspruch auf Mängelbeseitigung muss vom Auftraggeber unter genauer Angabe des Mangels spätestens innerhalb 10 Tage schriftlich geltend gemacht werden.

4.3
Ein berechtigter Mangel liegt nur dann vor wenn die gelieferte Übersetzung keine adäquate Entsprechung des im Ausgangstext gemeinten Sachverhalts darstellt. Zum Beispiel stellen gewünschte Verwendungen von Synonymen oder freie Umformulierungen des Zieltextes ohne Berücksichtigung des Ausgangstextes keinen Grund zur Reklamation dar.

4.4 Mängel in der Übersetzung, die auf schlecht lesbare, fehlerhafte, unvollständige oder verstümmelte Textvorlagen (Auslassungen) beruhen, fallen nicht in meinen Verantwortungsbereich.

5. Abnahme

5.1
Es gilt eine Frist von 10 Kalendertagen für Vornahme der Abnahme. Erfolgt innerhalb dieser Frist weder eine Erklärung der Abnahme noch eine begründete Ablehnung der Abnahme durch den Auftraggeber, so gilt der Lieferumfang als abgenommen.

5.2
Ist der Auftraggeber Kaufmann, so gilt bei Mängeln im Übrigen § 377 HGB.

6. Haftung

6.1
Ich hafte bei grober Fahrlässigkeit und Vorsatz. Nicht als grobe Fahrlässigkeit einzustufen sind Schäden, die durch Computerausfälle und Übertragungsstörungen bei E-Mail Versendung oder durch Viren verursacht worden sind. Ich treffe durch Anti-Virus-Software hiergegen Vorkehrungen. Die Haftung bei leichter Fahrlässigkeit gilt ausschließlich im Falle der Verletzung von Kardinalpflichten.

6.2
Der Anspruch des Auftraggebers gegen mich auf Ersatz eines nach § 6 (1) Satz 4 verursachten Schadens wird auf den vertraglich vereinbarten Betrag begrenzt.

6.3
Der Ausschluss oder die Begrenzung der Haftung nach § 6 (1) und (2) gilt nicht für Schäden des Verbrauchers aus der Verletzung des Lebens, des Körpers oder der Gesundheit.

6.4
Eine Rückgriffhaftung bei Schadenersatzansprüchen Dritter ist ausdrücklich ausgeschlossen.

6.5
Ansprüche des Auftraggebers wegen Mängeln der Übersetzung verjähren, sofern nicht Arglist vorliegt, in einem Jahr nach Abnahme.

7. Vergütung und Zahlung

7.1
Meine Rechnungen sind fällig und zahlbar ohne Abzug innerhalb von 30 Tagen nach Rechnungsdatum. Danach tritt Verzug ein. Es gelten die Bestimmungen des Gesetzes zur Beschleunigung fälliger Zahlungen vom 30. März 2000 (BGBl. I, S. 330).

7.2
Alle zitierte Preise verstehen sich zuzüglich der gesetzlichen Umsatzsteuer.

7.3
Falls nicht anders vereinbart, berechnet sich der Umfang einer Fließtext-Übersetzung nach der Zahl der Normzeilen in der Zielsprache, wobei eine Normzeile aus 55 Anschlägen (inklusive Leerstellen) besteht. Der Preis berechnet sich dann durch Multiplikation der Zeilenzahlen mit dem Zeilenpreis. Korrektur, Lektorat, Bearbeitung von Excel- oder Powerpoint-Dateien sowie Ghostwriting werden nach Zeitaufwand berechnet. Listen von Einzelbegriffen oder kontextlose Texte bzw. Textfragmente werden nach gesonderter Vereinbarung berechnet.

7.4
Komplizierte Formatierung des Textes kann nicht garantiert werden bzw. wird zusätzlich in Rechnung gestellt.

7.5
Kunden in Deutschland zahlen auf mein Geschäftskonto. Kunden in Österreich auf mein österreichisches Geschäftskonto. Kunden aus anderen Euro-Ländern und der Schweiz müssen auf eines dieser Konten per SEPA-Überweisung zahlen. Bei Zahlungen von anderen Währungsgebieten aus sind sämtliche Bankspesen zu Lasten des Kunden.

7.6
Dem Auftraggeber steht das Recht zur Aufrechnung nur zu, wenn seine Gegenansprüche rechtskräftig festgestellt oder unbestritten sind. Zur Ausübung einer Zurückbehaltungsrechts ist der Auftraggeber nur insoweit berechtigt, als sein Gegenanspruch auf dem gleichen Auftragsverhältnis beruht.

8. Eigentumsvorbehalt und Urheberrechte

8.1
Bis zur vollständigen Bezahlung der Auftragsrechnung bleiben Übersetzungen und andere Texte mein Eigentum. Bis dahin hat der Auftraggeber kein Nutzungsrecht.

8.2
Sofern ein Text für einen Dritten erstellt wurde, behalte ich das Recht vor, diesen Dritten auf meine offenstehende Forderung und die daraus resultierende Unrechtmäßigkeit der Verwendung der Übersetzung bzw. des Textes hinzuweisen.

8.3
Jegliches Urheberrecht bleibt bei mir. Nach vollständiger Zahlung hat der Auftraggeber ein uneingeschränktes Recht zur Nutzung der Übersetzung oder anderer Texte.

9. Vertraulichkeit und Geheimhaltung

9.1
Ich verpflichte mich, alle Informationen, die ich im Zusammenhang mit Übersetzungs-, Lektorats- und Ghostwritingaufträge erlange, einschließlich der bloßen Existenz der Geschäftsverbindung, geheim zuhalten. Für meine freiberufliche Praxis gebe ich nie die Identität von Kunden als Referenzen preis. Die Identität meiner freiberuflichen Kunden gebe ich nur befugten fiskalischen Behörden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland preis. Ich gewähre auch keinen Kunden Einsicht in meine Geschäftsunterlagen. Ich habe mich auch nicht vertraglich verpflichtet, Dritten Auskünfte über meine Geschäftsverbindungen zu geben.

9.2
Ich arbeite grundsätzlich nicht für öffentliche Behörden, einschließlich internationaler Behörden oder Organisationen, und auch nicht für Kunden in Landesverteidigungs- oder sicherheitssensiblen Bereichen. Wo ich Dienstleistungen ausführe, die diesen Bereichen zugutekommen, geschieht das ausschließlich über kaufmännisch tätige Vermittler, mit denen sich mein Geschäftsverhältnis rein kommerziell gestaltet. Polizei, Staatsanwälte und Gerichte sind auch öffentliche Behörden im Sinne dieses Absatzes.

9.3
Ich beschäftige Dritte ausschließlich für die Erstellung von Texten in anderen Sprachen als Englisch. Solchen Mitarbeitern lege ich die in § 9 (1) dargelegten Pflichten auf.

9.4
Sämtliche Texte und Dateien, die mit meiner freiberuflichen Praxis zu tun haben, lagern auf meinem eigenen Server.

9.5
Bei der elektronischen Übermittlung von Texten und Daten sowie bei anderer Kommunikation in elektronischer Form kann ich keinen absoluten Schutz des Inhalts gewährleisten, da es nicht auszuschließen ist, dass von mir nicht autorisierte Dritte auf elektronischem Wege die übermittelten Texten und Daten abfangen können. Auf Kundenwunsch, können Verschlüsselungsverfahren vereinbart werden.

9.6
Für meine Praxis unterhalte ich Geschäftsverbindungen für Internet-, IT- und EDV Dienstleistungen ausschließlich mit Firmen mit Sitz in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Ausländische Sozialnetzwerke und ähnliche ausländische Providers werden weder für Marketing noch für andere Geschäftszwecke benutzt. Die ausnahmsweise Benutzung von im Ausland ansässigen Providers (z. B. Skype) muss vom Kunden vorab genehmigt werden.

9.7
Ich gewährleiste Schutz gegen versehentliche Fehlleitung von für Kunden bestimmten Dateien nur sofern meine interne Sicherheitskodierung von Dateinamen benutzt wird.

10. Anwendbares Recht

10.1
Für meine Aufträge gilt ausschließlich deutsches Recht.

10.2
Soweit die Vertragspartei Kaufmann oder juristische Person ist, ist Erfüllungsort und Gerichtsstand München.

10.3
Die Wirksamkeit dieser Geschäftsbedingungen wird durch die Nichtigkeit oder Unwirksamkeit einzelner Bestimmungen nicht berührt.

10.4
Änderungen und Ergänzungen dieser Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen sind nur gültig, wenn sie schriftlich vereint worden sind. Dies gilt auch für die Änderung des Schriftformerfordernisses selbst.