Article Writing

The range extends from a simple translation of existing foreign-language Texts to their adaptation and deliberate localisation for specific target groups up to and including creating a completely new article.

Example: A lengthy scientific paper for an educated audience of peers is reworked into a shorter version for an audience of laymen.

Besides general linguistic quality, texts intended for publication in print are adapted to the level of English language skills, the prevalent professional or national terminology, customary courtesies and cultural sensitivities of the target group. Texts for businessmen are generally modelled, as far as style and vocabulary are concerned, on the Financial Times of London.

Since the author very frequently has already written, in his/her own language,  papers, internal company documents, lectures, professional articles, etc. on the subject that is now to be disseminated to an international readership in English, a suitable new English presentation in can often be put together in a specified length from a collection of such already available materials.

Conventional English publication lengths are 3000 or 6000 words (article or essay length).

Artikelschreiben

Die Palette reicht von der einfachen Übersetzung bereits existierender deutscher Texte über deren Anpassung und gezielte Lokalisierung für spezifische Zielgruppen bis hin zur Konzipierung eines völlig neuen Artikels.

Beispiel: Ein längerer wissenschaftlicher deutscher Aufsatz für ein gebildetes Kollegenpublikum wird in eine kürzere englische Fassung für ein Laienpublikum umgearbeitet.

Außer der allgemeinen Qualität der Sprache, werden Texte für den Druck dem Sprachkenntnisniveau, der beruflich oder national bedingten Terminologie, den Höflichkeitsgepflogenheiten und den kulturellen Empfindlichkeiten der Zielgruppe angepasst. Texte für Wirtschaftskreise werden in der Regel bezüglich Stil und Wortschatz nach dem Vorbild der Londoner Financial Times erstellt.

Da der Autor sehr häufig bereits in seiner Muttersprache Aufsätze, firmeninterne Geschäftsdokumente, Vorträge, Fachartikel, usw. zu einem Thema geschrieben hat, das jetzt einem internationalen Publikum in englischer Sprache vorgetragen werden soll, lässt sich häufig aus der Sammlung solcher bereits vorhandener Materialen eine geeignete englische Neufassung in einer vorgegebenen Länge zusammenstellen.

Gängige Längen im englischen sind 3000 und 6000 Wörter (Artikel- bzw. Monografielänge).