Biography

conlon2Paul Conlon, an Irish national born in 1944, studied history, Slavic languages, politics, law and sociology in Vienna and Stockholm before receiving a doctorate in 1974 from the University of Lund with a dissertation in sociology.

After working as a teacher at the universities of Lund, Uppsala and Kiel, he did research in consumer behaviour and accident and disaster relief for a variety of public-sector clients in Sweden and Germany. After briefly working as an editorial assistant in the bibliographic division of the American Petroleum Institute he was recruited by the United Nations and deployed with a General Assembly body charged with enforcing an oil embargo against South Africa. That body succeeded after several years in making a contribution to the fall of the apartheid regime with the aid of advanced computer assisted intelligence gathering while at the same time avoiding the demagogy otherwise prevalent in the General Assembly.

In 1990, Paul Conlon was transferred to the Security Council section and assigned to the staff of the Iraq Sanctions Committee where he used the experiences gained in his previous position and the methods developed there to cope with the committee’s massive administrative tasks. Due to his early recognition of and critical attitude to the unhealthy practices that later led to the oil-for-food scandal, he left the United Nations in 1995.

That same year he moved to Munich where he has since then worked as a translator, political consultant and business mediator.

Paul Conlon is both an experienced English writer and public speaker, primarily in the diplomatic field, as well as an author of books and learned articles in international law and a translator of corporate law and financial texts as well as, occasionally, of fiction.  He has also had extensive experience in public speaking in German and Swedish and has published in both those languages. He additionally commands French, Dutch and Russian, fluently and with negotiating proficiency.

VITA

Pconlon2aul Conlon, Jahrgang 1944 und irischer Nationalität, studierte Geschichte, Slawistik, Staatswissenschaft, Jura und Soziologie in Wien und Stockholm und promovierte 1974 an der Universität Lund mit einer Dissertation in Soziologie.

Nach einer Lehrtätigkeit an den Universitäten Lund, Uppsala und Kiel, erforschte er Verbraucherverhalten und Unfall- und Katastrophenbekämpfung für verschiedene öffentliche Auftraggeber in Schweden und Deutschland. Nach einer kurzen Zeit als Referent im bibliographischen Dienst des American Petroleum Institute wurde er von den Vereinten Nationen rekrutiert und bei einem Gremium der Generalversammlung eingesetzt, das mit der Durchsetzung eines Erdölembargos gegen Südafrika beauftragt war. Diesem Gremium ist es nach einigen Jahren gelungen, einen Beitrag zum Sturz des Apartheidregimes zu leisten unter Vermeidung der ortsüblichen Demagogie und mit Hilfe fortschrittlichen IT-gestützten Methoden der Nachrichtengewinnung.

1990 wurde Paul Conlon in den Dienst des Weltsicherheitsrates versetzt und dem Stab des Irak-Sanktionsausschusses zugeteilt, wo er die in seiner vorherigen Position gewonnenen Erfahrungen und entwickelten Verfahren zur Bewältigung der massiven Verwaltungsaufgaben des Ausschusses einsetzte. Aufgrund seiner frühen Erkenntnis und kritischer Haltung zu den unheilvollen Praktiken, die später zum Erdöl-für-Lebensmittel-Skandal führten, verließ er 1995 die Vereinten Nationen.

Im selben Jahr übersiedelte er nach München, wo er seitdem freiberuflich als Übersetzer, Politikberater und Wirtschaftsmediator tätig ist.

Paul Conlon, ist sowohl ein erfahrener englischer Schriftsteller und Redner, vor allem im diplomatischen Bereich, als auch ein Autor von völkerrechtlichen Fachbüchern und wissenschaftlichen Artikeln und Übersetzer von sowohl Rechts- und Finanztexten im Wirtschaftsbereich als auch, gelegentlich, von Romanen. Er verfügt außerdem über umfangreiche Rednererfahrung in Deutsch und Schwedisch mit verschiedenen Veröffentlichungen in diesen Sprachen. Er beherrscht zusätzlich, verhandlungssicher und fließend, die Sprachen Französisch, Niederländisch und Russisch.